The 10th International Conference on Stability, Handling and Use of Liquid Fuels

Theme:  Alternative Fuels


Location: Tucson,Arizona
Date: October 7 – 11, 2007
Attendees: 190 Delegates, 38 Guests
Conference Chair: Graham C. Hill

The Hilton El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort in Tucson, Arizona USA was the venue for the 10th Conference organized by the International Association for the Stability, Handling and Use of Liquid Fuels. The conference began with an opening reception at the Last Territory on Sunday, 7th October, and ended with a closing reception on the 11th October 2007. There were 190 delegates and 38 guests in attendance from 16 countries. Delegates viewed 12 poster presentations and 15 company exhibits at the conference.

Keynote addresses were given by Mike Farmery of Shell Aviation UK on Alternative Fuels: Where We Are and Where We Are Going, and Robert McCormick of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (USA) on A Broad Overview of the Status of Biodiesel in the US. These were excellent presentations relating to alternative fuels, the theme of the 10th Conference.

The second John D. Bacha Student Excellence Award was presented to Judith White, Cardiff University, Wales, UK for her paper entitled, Molecular Systematics and Genetic Fingerprinting of Hydrocarbon-Degrading Bacteria in Fuel Samples.

The Nahum Por Award was presented to Victor B. Hughes, well deserved for his inspiration in leading the association into a new era standing on its own. IASH Lifetime Achievement Awards were given to Dr. Clifford A. Moses and Kurt H. Strauss for their dedicated efforts in this field throughout their lives. Cliff Moses was in attendance; however, Kurt Strauss was not able to attend.

Fifty-three presentations were given in ten sessions that included the following topics:
  • Synthetic Fuels
  • New Challenges in Fuel Distribution & Storage
  • Biofuels I – Handling & Stability
  • Biofuels II – Biodiesel Stability
  • Fuel Filtration & Cleanliness
  • Analytical Methodology
  • Additives & Additive Related Properties
  • Microbiological Contamination of Fuel
  • Aviation Fuels
  • Fuels From Unconventional Sources
Proceedings of the conference are available to IASH Members.  A CD-ROM of the proceedings can be ordered by contacting Shirley Bradicich, IASH Administrator, at [email protected].

The Conference Chairman and the IASH Board of Directors would like to thank all of the presenters for their time and effort in producing excellent presentations and the delegates themselves for supporting the conference by their attendance and active participation.