Theme: The Sustainability of Liquid Fuels


Location: Sarasota, Florida USA
Dates: October 16-20, 2011
Attendees: 210 Delegates; 32 Guests
Conference Chairman: Anthony Kitson-Smith

The Hyatt Regency Sarasota in Sarasota, Florida was the venue for the 12th Conference organized by the International Association for the Stability, Handling and Use of Liquid Fuels. The conference began with an opening reception poolside at the Hyatt Regency on Sunday, 16 October, and ended with a closing BBQ beach party at Siesta Key Beach on Thursday, 20th October. There were 210 delegates and 32 spouses/guests in attendance from 21 countries. Delegates viewed 19 poster presentations and 18 company exhibits at the conference.

Keynote addresses were given by Rob Gardner, Manager Corporate Strategic Planning at ExxonMobil Corporation on Energy Outlook and the Future of Liquid Fuels; and Dr. Troy Campione, Senior Vice President of Corporate Development at Joule Unlimited on A Breakthrough Solar Platform for the Direct, Continuous Conversion of CO2 to Liquid Fuels. These were two excellent presentations relating to "The Sustainability of Liquid Fuels," the theme of the 12th Conference.

The John D. Bacha Student Excellence Award was presented to Christopher Kabana from Duquesne University, USA, for his paper entitled: Thermal Oxidative Stability of Middle Distillate Fuels – Part I: Chemistry of Deposit Formation.

The Nahum Por Award was presented to Graham C. Hill, ECHA Microbiology Ltd., for his leadership and promotion of the Association over the past few years. IASH Lifetime Achievement Awards were given to the following individuals for their dedicated efforts in the field of aviation fuels throughout their careers:
  • Ubaidallah AlGhamdi, Arabian Fuels Technology Centre
  • Josefa Ben-Asher, The Israel Institute of Petroleum and Energy
  • Gregory Hemighaus, Retired from Chevron
  • Roger G. Gaughan, ExxonMobil Research & Engineering
  • Robert E. Morris, US Naval Research Laboratory
Two special recognitions awards were presented. One to Melanie Thom for her dedication and support as the IASH Newsletter Editor; and one to Mario LePera for his many years providing IASH Website support.

Sixty-Four presentations were given in eleven sessions that included the following topics:
  • Renewable Fuels and Carbon Neutrality
  • Challenges in Fuel Distribution, Storage and Use with Today’s and Tomorrow’s Fuels
  • Aviation Fuels Today and Tomorrow
  • Fuel Filtration and Cleanliness
  • Analytical Methods I & II
  • Properties, Chemistry and Viability of Fuels
  • Middle Distillate Fuels and Heavy Oils
  • Performance Enhancement – Additives and Processing
  • Long-Term Storage Stability of Liquid Fuels
  • Fuel Microbiology
Conference Proceedings are available to members on-line through the IASH Library. Proceedings are available on CD-ROM to members at a cost of $30. Contact the IASH Administrator, Shirley Bradicich, at [email protected] to order.

The Conference Chairman and the IASH Board of Directors would like to thank all of the presenters for their time and effort in producing excellent presentations and the delegates themselves for supporting the conference by their attendance and active participation.

Many thanks to the 21 sponsoring organizations and companies without whose financial support we would not have been able to stage such a memorable 12th Conference:

Gold Sponsor: ExxonMobil Aviation and Fuel Quality Services, Inc.

Silver Sponsors: Air BP, Energy Institute, Parker Hannifin; Pratt & Whitney; Shell Aviation; US Defense Logistics Agency-Energy, and US Naval Research Laboratory.

Exhibitors: Bruker Optics, D2 Incorporated, ECHA Microbiology Ltd.; Emcee Electronics, Falex Corporation, Intertek Commodities, Kam Controls, Inc., PAC, PAMAS GmbH, Seta Analytics; Supreme Fuels Trading FZE, and University of Dayton Research Institute.

Anthony Kitson-Smith,
Conference Chairman / 1st Vice-Chairman IASH.